Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

how 2 play aa??????

Old
how 2 play aa?????? - Sun Jan 05, 2003, 12:55 PM
(#1)
Deleted user
hi all
i am new to pso and am really enjoying it here,i was just wondering if any of the experienced/advanced/good players(u know who u are)could help me with a problem.

HOW DO YOU PLAY AA??????

obviously there is no one answer but there must be a written rule or strategy.
i have found that if i raise too much everybody folds and i feel short changed,if i attempt to slowplay i get rivered by a flush or house,also should i ever throw AA away.
for example if i raise and am called and the flop comes 2 6 9 rainbow,and the caller then bets where do i stand.i could be in front still but do i call or raise,should i consider folding?
i know i am making myself sound like a fool(which i am)but any feedback will be appreciated.

cheers
outdrawn
london
uk

Old
Sun Jan 05, 2003, 01:54 PM
(#2)
Deleted user
AA
pot raise preflop
if a pot raise commits 35%+ of your stack raise all in

on a flop of 269 rainbow and someone betting into you all in

if you run into a set unlucky another tourny another day

your more likey against AK,A9 or an over pair.

views of a beginner player

Old
Sun Jan 05, 2003, 03:21 PM
(#3)
Deleted user
The view of a player on the slippery slope to poker madness :lol: ....

It depends a great deal on what people refer to as "depth of money".
If its the early stages of a 10k NLHE event, blinds are 50/100, there is really a problem in how much to bet. You're faced with winning a small pot with a huge bet or betting smaller and risk getting called by (say) 33 or JTs that flops hugely. That's the way it is, and a lot depends on your knowledge of the calling player(s). They say big pp's are destined to win small amounts or lose big, but I'm sure that's only true with relatively deep money, i.e. big stacks/smallish blinds.