Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Is the secret Hidden?

Old
Is the secret Hidden? - Fri Oct 04, 2002, 01:37 AM
(#1)
Deleted user
Okay...I'm quite new at playing this game for big marbles, but after reading most of the material on the site...I was doing quite well.

Now...I'm getting the **** kicked out of me regularly.

This is what is happening:

*I have tried playing only hands in which I have the recommended starting cards according to position. Many more times than not...the flop renders them useless, and since I am trying to hang in only if I believe I may have the best hand...or several shots at it...I frequently get shot down in stack a call at a time.

*Point 2: I've seen So Many people raise in big with MUCH less than superior hands...and basically buy everyone out. They always get KO'd at some point...when somebody with the stack can catch a hand and kill em....but in the meantime, I've gotten killed by calling in with a superior preflop hand....then getting bet out, or even beaten by a garbage flop.

I've tried some variance in openers, and betting strategy...but what I'd like to hear, is how some of the vets handle some of these situations.

I am well aware that even great players (which I am not...YET) can go through intense slumps...and that's ok, but I am getting the feeling that I should do ....."something" different.

Any advice or responses will be appreciated.

Thanks

Old
Fri Oct 04, 2002, 01:52 AM
(#2)
Deleted user
Razor,

I think the key is that you have to be able to adapt your play according to who is at your table. Learn who is tight, who is loose, who is weak, and who is scary (these are the players who are not only good, but are unpredictable - I try avoid entering pots with these types).