Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions / Old Hand Analysis Section /

Playing Against a Drawing Hand (And a Guy Who Seriously Overplays Them)

Old
Playing Against a Drawing Hand (And a Guy Who Seriously Overplays Them) - Tue Feb 15, 2011, 04:10 AM
(#1)
Since: Sep 2010
So, I'm still learning how to use the new replayer, so the FTR one will have to suffice for now. Anyway. One more analysis for the night.

Mid phase of the same MTT as the other hand. I've chipped up, in part thanks to the villain, who bluffed of some of his stack to me a few hands back. I'm new at this table, and I only have notes on this one player, who's been pretty active. The villain, who has built his stack by virtue of impressive luck, seems to overplay drawing hands. I've seen him call flops and turns with bad odds and almost none implied, to show down a drawing hand. Luckily for him, they got there a few times.

In this hand, I drew a monster in the hole, and on the flop, which was pretty drawy, I felt like the villain's bet almost screamed drawing hand, so I took a line to price him out, with the possibility of changing it if he seemed to have something else. On the turn, I really felt like he had a draw, so I made a somewhat large bet for value.