Home / Community / Forum / Support Area / Poker News /

MTT + R with 60min ext reg help

Old
Question
MTT + R with 60min ext reg help - Mon Feb 21, 2011, 05:41 AM
(#1)
Since: Feb 2011
Intro part, skip down for actual question.

I hope the title made sense.. Pretty new here. I was refering to big tournaments with option of rebuy and addon as well as 60min extended registration. Mainly ones in the low buy-in range of 1$-5$.

I'm pretty new to playing poker except for casual fun play with friends, I recently joined PS and I'm reading all the courses thoroughly as well as trying to join all the live training sessions and watch tournaments on pokerstars.tv.

I'm still trying to find a playstyle I like and refine my strategies. I don't look a lot at my results hand by hand, but I try to analyze how I played overall in everything I play in. I only play tournaments and sit&go.

My playstyle right now is trying to play a decent number of hands in the beginning of the tournaments as long as all the stack sizes are pretty even. If I go a bit under I play tighter and more aggressive with good hands and if I go big I try to play the same as when I started. I avoid dangerous risks and I virtually never call super-aggressive play from anyone, especially not all ins until at least itm spots, and 90% only when I know I have the nuts or I have a good read on my opponents style.

Question: For my playstyle and since I'm new, does it matter at all if I register late or early in these tournaments? Since I'm playing kinda tight I'm thinking playing for 1 hour less would mean less chips lost to blinds since I'm playing relatively few hands and folding easily without the nuts or very strong hands against big aggression.

Same question for tournaments with different kinds of turbo.

Since I haven't dedicated a very big bankroll to playing as I'm rather new and still learning I want to avoid buying in again and try to avoid addons unless I see it as a clear benefit.