Home / Community / Forum / Support Area / Poker News /

Odds

Old
Odds - Sun Feb 27, 2011, 05:23 AM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2010
Hello all, I'm fairly new to the math side of poker and I am hoping people will ring in with some contributions.

I'm looking for two things:

First, I've been reading and looking at vids and other things on odds, pot odds, probabilities, etc... for Hold'em and I'd like to know what is the best way to practice determining those kinds of things (My math skills suck btw :P )

Secondly, I'm looking to know if there is any good free poker software out there for any particular facet of the game, anything would help.

Thanks all!

Old
Sun Feb 27, 2011, 05:11 PM
(#2)
Since: Oct 2010
BronzeStar
There is always alot of confusion on the math side of poker and from my persective, and you can get as simple or as complex as you like but the real key is knowing what to do with the information that you get. So lets start at the top.

Starting hand odds. This is where your hand should begin and on the following chart it will show you the odds to win based on your starting 2 cards. Again there is no cut and dried "I have A/A and that says I will win" however it does give you a place to start your hand from.

I would recomend that you save this image and print it out untill you memorize the most common hands that you will play based on your playing style. This is not a comprehensive list but it does list most of the highest percentage starting hands. If you can't get the image to print out well enough, a quick google search should pull one similar up for you.

Pot Odds: