Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions / Old Hand Analysis Section /

Double or Nothing SitnGo 2nd place w/9 players left

Old
Double or Nothing SitnGo 2nd place w/9 players left - Sun Feb 27, 2011, 02:19 PM
(#1)
Since: Jan 2011
This is my first attempt at hand replayer post. Hopefully it works!

The situation is as seen below. I have no prior knowledge of other players prior to this game.
This was the 24th hand of the session. This was my first time playing 3 tables at same time and was involved with another hand on another table. Looking back I know I played it poorly, but I'm still losing a ton of chips here b/c I saw the possible str8 with a limper.

Suggestions on post flop play... and I think I got stuck with aejones Theory!!!

Last edited by Daders; Sun Feb 27, 2011 at 02:26 PM..

Old
Mon Feb 28, 2011, 05:50 AM
(#2)
Since: Aug 2010
BronzeStar
Early in a DoN type event, you gotta really give creedence to a check raise of any sort.

Those events are jsut too tightly played (in general) to FAIL to give thought to what can beat you.

Top and bottom pair is "good", but both your stack, and the opponent's, are too "large" to really want to get all in with a 1 pair hand. This is especially true since there are no string DRAW hances with any expectation of being "ahead" (mathematically) of a single pair hand; meaning there are no 2 way" flush/straight combo draws, or ooe STR plus over card draws.

His re-pop MIGHT have been AK, but you could have flatted that, and almost certainly seen a bet from him in this sort of event, especially if a draw does materialize.

Since you;ve heard of AEJones' theorem, try considering a modified form of the "Baluga theorem", as applied to check raises in normally TIGHT structure events.

Old
Mon Feb 28, 2011, 04:29 PM
(#3)
Since: Jun 2010
(Head Trainer)
JD viewed the Theorems training yesterday!