Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / New Members /

New to PSO and need advice

Old
New to PSO and need advice - Sun Mar 06, 2011, 11:54 AM
(#1)
Since: Mar 2011
BronzeStar
I am new to PSO but have been playing for several years. I have noticed a big improvement in my play especially in tourneys but still have a long way to go. It seems I do ok in the beginning of a tourney but have run into a wall at certain points near the end. I get good starting hands (AK, AQ, QQ, etc.) but always get outdrawn in the end (lots of calling stations nowadays). I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice as to the best way to overcome this "wall". I have gone from finishing early to finishing within top 300.

Old
Sun Mar 06, 2011, 11:57 AM
(#2)
Since: Aug 2010
BronzeStar
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxPoker2007 View Post
I am new to PSO but have been playing for several years. I have noticed a big improvement in my play especially in tourneys but still have a long way to go. It seems I do ok in the beginning of a tourney but have run into a wall at certain points near the end. I get good starting hands (AK, AQ, QQ, etc.) but always get outdrawn in the end (lots of calling stations nowadays). I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice as to the best way to overcome this "wall". I have gone from finishing early to finishing within top 300.

Take that "AQ" hand out of good starting hands. Then play the others slower. Let others make mistakes and fold when you feel you are behind.

JT

Old
Sun Mar 06, 2011, 12:25 PM
(#3)
Since: Mar 2011
BronzeStar
Thanks for your reply. I have been reading the info on the PSO site and realized that most of the troubles I have been running into is on the back end of an upswing so I am being overconfident with those hands. Instead of actually looking at everything, I am looking at it as if I can't do wrong on them. I will try this today and see how things go. Again, thanks for the advice!

Old
Sun Mar 06, 2011, 02:35 PM
(#4)