Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Brags, Beats and Variance /

learn from your bad beats

Old
learn from your bad beats - Wed Mar 09, 2011, 10:54 AM
(#1)
Since: Feb 2011
BronzeStar
I've been playing cards for over 35 years, and it took me, because of my ego and other factors, this long to use a horrific beat to my advantage from a rigorous self-assessment process that folowed this recent beating in Jan11. I was going good @ my usual limit $5-10 NL holdem and made the classic mistake to use this upswing to limit up to $10-25 NL. Ironically, in this game I was dealt the dream scenario. Pocket AA with 3 callers pre-flop on my preflop raise. Flop comes
A 3 3. I ranged my opponents properly for this flop ( easy with a monster like I had), raised, two players folded and much to my delight had the last player raise me ( he must have put me on AK,KK, QQ or something). I got him all-in on the flop. I have put him on 3-4, 3-5, suited or exactly what I think he put me on or an unlikely A 3) Turn is a blank 10. River is, you all know it- the case 3 for quads. this one hand put a severe blow on my bankroll) The point is, this 46-1 dog or more realistically this 22-1 dog to see 2 cards got there proving once again the high variance of the game. this situation forced me to reassess my game in away that I have not in years, and though it is still to early to call, I am having very good success since I put myself back to school- I never would have considered this as an option before this BAD BAD Beat. Proving it is critical for everyone not to be too old to LEARN!!!!!- especially from their bad beats that could be easily justified as just donkie play- which it WAS!! BUT that is not the point of this BAD BEat Story!!

Last edited by BRNXBOY54; Wed Mar 09, 2011 at 11:06 AM.. Reason: mistake in text