Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions / Old Hand Analysis Section /

AK vs A2

Old
AK vs A2 - Thu Mar 17, 2011, 09:38 PM
(#1)
Since: Sep 2010
BronzeStar
ok previous to this I had a massive stack and ran into quads when i had second nut flush which wiped my stack out so just wanted to take the blinds down should i have played this any different?

Old
Fri Mar 18, 2011, 06:26 AM
(#2)
Since: Nov 2007
AK unsuited; I will not use the term drawing hand again as what I really meant to say that it has to hit the board in some way to be better than Ace high.

I don't like raising out of the big blind with AK unsuited when there are several callers; off course you dominate A rag but if the rag hits the board then you are dominated.

The German version of this site, Intellipoker, must advocate calling an all in with Ace rag because I see so many German players calling with Ace rag to an all in preflop bet.

I am not an expert on odds or probabilities but the way i see it is this is that if you have AK and the caller an Ace, and any other card, you are a big favourite because of the King kicker. However, the chances of a king coming versus any other card has to be the same since you have to assume that there are three of each left in the deck. If he hits his any other card, then you are behind and the only card that will save you is a King. Time to fold.

The all in out of the big blind leaves it in the lap of the gods, in hindsight maybe a 3x raise would have been better than just the flat call. There are times where you're going to be making all of your choices with it pre-flop, but without post-flop choices, you are extremely limiting your ability to manipulate the odds of the hand past the original statistics.