Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Starting hands

Old
Starting hands - Fri Mar 18, 2011, 06:11 AM
(#1)
Since: Mar 2011
Hi guys.
I don't want this to sound like a whine, because it isn't.
When I started playing I was enjoying reasonable success until I started learning how to play. Now that I understand some of the basics the wins have dried up
But the reason I am posting is this, for the last couple of weeks I have been plagued with what I think are unreasonable runs of bad starting hands. This list is three recent sessions and I was wondering what you experienced guys think. Is it just a matter of knuckling down until the tide turns as it were? I don't expect monster hands every session, but it would be nice to be able to raise occasionally knowing that I have at least a little chance of winning. I do manage to win some of these hands, but you can't bluff very often and expect to win at my level.
[7 s][6 d]
[4 c][A c]
[5 c][2 c]
[J s][7 c]
[3 s][T c]
[Q h][9 h]
[K c][A h]
[8 h][7 s]
[9 h][7 d]
[5 s][5 h]
[A h][3 d]
[6 s][9 h]
[3 d][6 s]
[4 h][3 c]
[K c][A d]
[8 s][K h]
[9 h][4 c]
[8 s][2 s]
[8 s][6 h]
[J h][9 c]

[8 c][6 s]
[A h][8 d]
[Q s][4 c]
[T c][8 s]
[J c][6 h]
[5 h][8 h]
[9 c][J c]
[Q d][5 d]
[8 d][A h]
[5 c][3 d]
[T c][A d]
[K c][Q h]
[7 c][A h]
[6 c][T h]
[5 d][T c]
[A h][K d]
[Q h][7 d]
[K c][9 c]
[K c][6 c]
[5 d][6 s]

[J h][8 s]
[3 c][7 c]
[8 h][2 s]
[8 s][7 d]
[Q c][A d]
[9 s][J d]
[3 s][K c]
[3 c][Q c]
[6 h][J s]
[J c][4 h]
[J c][5 s]
[J h][7 s]
[3 c][6 h]
[2 h][Q s]
[5 d][3 h]
[T d][7 s]
[J s][5 d]
[A h][3 d]
[2 s][9 s]
[5 s][7 s]
[Q c][7 d]

Or is this just what I should be expecting to see on a regular basis and just need to learn how to play them better?

Thanks for taking time to look.
Gabe

Old
Fri Mar 18, 2011, 09:33 AM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
BronzeStar