Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

What game/stake should I be playing next?

Old
What game/stake should I be playing next? - Sun Apr 03, 2011, 09:03 AM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2010
I would appreciate some advice on where I should be investing my poker time for the next month or so. Which style of game and at what stake level? My twin aims are to grow my bankroll safely (I am not in a position to just reload if I go bust), and to continue to learn and improve my game.

Forgive me if this is a long rambling post, but I wanted to give as full a picture as I could about where I am up to with my fledgling game.

My bankroll had grown slowly from zero since I started playing poker just last October. It is now up to $120. In the longer term I would love to be able to significantly supplement my income from poker if I can improve my game sufficiently. Although I am definitely one of life's low stakes grinders rather than a high stakes gambler. As such, it is important to me psychologically that the bankroll keeps growing, if only slowly.

I started up my bankroll from freerolls, then once I had $20 I played a little 1c/2c cash, to earn vpps to make me active for the PSO skill league. So far the skill league has been the biggest contributor to my modest bankroll. In subsequent months I grew bolder and also tried 2c/5c and 5c/10c cash games for the vpps.

I didn't enjoy the cash games as much as tourney play, although I was quite successful in this small sample, at least until I hit the 5c/10c tables. I have stuck to no limit holdem throughout.

More than half my bankroll so far has come from the skill league, with $30 finishes in Dec and Jan, and $15 in Feb.

Meanwhile I have been playing and enjoying sit and goes the last two months. In Jan I played lots of the 25c 45 player games, consistently running deep in them and making a decent (small in cash terms) profit.