Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions / Old Hand Analysis Section /

Where did I go wrong??

Old
Where did I go wrong?? - Wed Apr 13, 2011, 09:12 PM
(#1)
Since: Jan 2011
BronzeStar
Hey guys I am new to online poker and am just trying to get some advice as to how I should have played this hand. My name is Justice7575

Old
Wed Apr 13, 2011, 11:33 PM
(#2)
Since: Feb 2011
BronzeStar
How I think you could have played this:

Good limp preflop with your low suited connector. Being out of position it is going to be very difficult to play 45s post flop unless you get really lucky and hit a strong hand. I don't like you betting into 3 people on the flop with your middle pair + gutshot. With 3 other people in the hand it is very possible someone has your middle pair beat. Also, your gutshot is not to the nut straight so it might not be best some of the times you get lucky enough to catch it. Check instead, try to keep the pot small. Big pots are for big hands, don't build the pot until you improve. Dennis would then bet and you could call. On the turn when you hit your gutshot straight, bet a lot more than $.10. Bet more like $1.00 - $1.40. As much as you think he will call. You want to get value for your made hand, as well as make any drawing hands pay too much to draw profitably. On the river, check!!! The 3 pairs the board, this hurts your hand. It does not help you in any way, but it could help improve your opponent. If you check and he overbets the pot or even pushes all-in, fold. If he bets a very small amount, consider calling.

My thought process on how the hand was played and how I would have read the situation: