Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

$10 Bankroll

Old
$10 Bankroll - Thu Apr 14, 2011, 12:03 AM
(#1)
Since: Jan 2011
BronzeStar
Hey guys I am new to online poker and am wondering whats best to play with a $10 bankroll?

Old
Thu Apr 14, 2011, 01:28 AM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
BronzeStar
You will no doubt get as many different answers as there are players. So I'll try offering a general overview.

1 ---- Most players will tell you the ring games are the best way to earn those vpps needed to go active. Remember that you earn points by folding in those games. Do not sit out any hands, fold if you have anything unattractive. There is a difference between folding, (gets points), and sitting out, (gets nothing).

2 ---- Dependent on your skill, and luck, ring games can cost you anywhere from nada on up for those points. Anticipate some cost. What you want to do is earn enough points to be active and get high enough to gain money. In other words, if it cost you $8 to become active, you want to earn at least the $15 prize.

3 ---- Tourneys can cost you as much as $20 to go active, assuming you lose every game. If you are good, you can reduce that cost. Vpps are earned based on the fee, which is the number following the + sign. A $1.00 + .10 game earns 0.55 vpps.

4 ---- Ring game vpps are earned if the pot is equal to, or exceeds 20¢.

5 ---- A lot of the players claim the 25¢ sng games are a great way to build a bankroll. The downside to this is the lack of vpps. So these games can help your stake, but cannot get you active.

6 ---- If you like the sng format, you might consider the double or nothing games. These will pay anywhere from $1.52 to $3.00 on a $1.00 + .11 game, which earns 0.61 vpps.