Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Top 5 Tips

Old
Top 5 Tips - Thu Apr 14, 2011, 12:30 AM
(#1)
Since: Jan 2011
BronzeStar
Hello everyone,

I'm new to online poker and im just wondering what everyone's top 5 tips for NLHE.

Old
Thu Apr 14, 2011, 05:35 PM
(#2)
Since: Feb 2011
BronzeStar
My personal tips are to:
1)Understand poker
2)study poker
3)practice poker
4)discuss poker
5)Play poker

From my experience, if you can do number 3 as cheap as possible you will get to do it more often.

Old
Thu Apr 14, 2011, 06:14 PM
(#3)
Since: Jun 2010
BronzeStar
My 5 points:

One: --- Consistency.
Pick a style that fits your personality. If you enjoy a loose style, always play loose. If you prefer an aggressive style, practice intimidation. If you want to be tight, establish a range of hands and stay in it.

Two: --- Patience.
Regardless of your style, realize poker is a game that has an element of chance. Wait for your opportunities. Tight players might wait for group one hands. The aggressive player might consider waiting for the pocket pair. The loose player might have to wait for that elusive ace.

Three: --- Observe.
Online or live, you are at a table with other people. Each of them has their personalities and their quirks regarding this game. Try to learn which ones do what and formulate a strategy to eliminate them.

Four: --- Adjust.
No matter how well you play, there will be situations where you will have to modify your usual habits. Knowing where and when to change from one style to another can be the ket to a successful run.

Five: --- Courtesy