Home / Community / Forum / Support Area / Poker News /

when am i ready?

Old
when am i ready? - Wed Apr 27, 2011, 03:35 PM
(#1)
Since: May 2010
WhiteStar
A wide open question, is there a bench mark in the play money arena that indicates when i might be ready to play real money if it gets legal again?

Old
Wed Apr 27, 2011, 03:40 PM
(#2)
Since: Aug 2010
BronzeStar
There is no real correlation between real money and play money games..... play for cash when you feel ready... I started playing with fake money and made about 3 million chips, then PS gave me 2 bucks, which i rang up to about 20 then lost it all lol play money is just so full of people who could care less.... use it to work on things and play when you feel it

Old
Fri May 27, 2011, 10:42 PM
(#3)
Since: Feb 2011
BronzeStar
I started with Play Money as well...I think everyone does, but I had to...I never played the game before in my life before coming here and was absolutely terrified of going in for real cash. I went thru the courses and passed them...made about 2 million in play money and it took me about a month to be brave enough to make a $20 deposit and play for real money.

I started out at the micro level at $0.01/o.o2 blinds and played extremely tight initially. Probably way to tight to be honest, but what can I say, I was nervous. We don't have a lot and yes...$20.00 wa a lot for me to deposit. However...I did sooner or later become more and more comfortable playing with real money. I think you will know better than anyone else if you're ready. Just keep in mind that the people at play money tables, as stated in the other post, really just don't give a damn. For them it's easy come, easy go. I played Play Money as tho it was real...I still do when i go back to those tables occassionally. Play Money is where I try out new thngs I've learned, etc.