Home / Community / Forum / Support Area / Poker News /

Any advice for GOYL

Old
Any advice for GOYL - Sat Apr 30, 2011, 07:23 PM
(#1)
Since: Apr 2011
hey guys

am new here (and fairly new to poker) so please bear with me.

been playing on/off online for about 8 months but only really been taking it seriously for the last 3 months or so.. havent really invested any money yet either (about $20 for some small MTTs) as im not really experienced enough yet although i am learning and these forums are a big help

my question, or rather a request, is that i have managed to qualify (god knows how!!) for the GOYL final tomorrow from one of the freerolls, and i was wondering if you had any advice for me.

its by far the biggest tourney ive qualified for and would really like to give it my best shot obviously. i know its going to be hard as im sure there will be a lot of good players there.

i know what hands to keep and through away (i not an all in with 7 2 os kind of bloke lol) but i seem to lose patience when i havent had a hand in ages and when i do i dont hit etc. how do you guys keep motivated through long tourneys if your not hitting anything or getting any hands?

i dont really know how to approach the tourney to give myself the best chance. i normally try to play quite tight at the start and wait for the all in idiots to go out, but have been caught with them at times when ive had AA on the first hand and busted out by someone with 9 10 or something.

any advice would be greatly appreciated and i look forward to being more active here and hopefully seeing you in may's PSO league, whenever that starts up.

thanks in advance

Last edited by PokeGod185; Sat Apr 30, 2011 at 07:27 PM..

Old
Sat Apr 30, 2011, 07:51 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
Hello and welcome to the PSO Pokegod185.

Sounds like you got it right, patience and only play top rated hands. There are a lot of very good players and I'm sure thay will chime in shortly.