Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / New Members /

Online Newbie with Idiot Questions

Old
Online Newbie with Idiot Questions - Tue May 03, 2011, 07:15 PM
(#1)
Since: May 2011
WhiteStar
First, it's nice to see how helpful everyone is.
Second, all the newbie threads are still too knowledgable for me.

I've played poker and worked in the poker industry for decades, but this is my first time online. There are so many things I don't understand:

Right now, only non-cash games are availabe to me in the US. Is there a way to keep track of what I "win/lose" in them or does one start with a fresh buy-in every session?

What are sit-and-go games?

Since I'm not playing real money, how do the tournaments work?

What are all these initials I see (vpp & fpp or something)?

Is there some quiz I'm supposed to take? Where do I find it?

Are there actually ways for me to earn real money even though I'm not investing anything?

Please know that while I'm pretty up on poker, I'm not the most savvy internet person, so feel free to dumb down all responses.

Thanks!
Sauly

Old
Tue May 03, 2011, 08:00 PM
(#2)
Since: Oct 2010
BronzeStar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaulRothman View Post

I've played poker and worked in the poker industry for decades, but this is my first time online. There are so many things I don't understand:

Right now, only non-cash games are availabe to me in the US. Is there a way to keep track of what I "win/lose" in them or does one start with a fresh buy-in every session?

WHAT EVER PLAY MONEY YOU HAVE LEFT WHEN YOU ARE DONE WILL CARRY OVER TO YOUR NEXT TIME

SMALL TOURNYS

SAME JUST THE BUY IN A PAY OUT ARE IN PLAY MONEY

THEY ONLY DEAL WITH REAL MONEY SO DON'T WORRY ABOUT THEM

THERE ARE QUIZ'S IN THE POKER SCHOOL LOBBY

Are there actually ways for me to earn real money even though I'm not investing anything?

NO AS A U.S. PLAYER YOU CAN NOT EARN ANYTHING OF VALUE