Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions / Old Hand Analysis Section /

A9 all-in in BB position in a PSO tournament

Old
A9 all-in in BB position in a PSO tournament - Wed May 11, 2011, 03:21 PM
(#1)
Since: Mar 2011
Hi,
I've started playing NL about 6 weeks ago, i.e. I am still an absolute beginner, but I want to learn. I have played the following hand in a PSO Skill League tournament and just wanted to know, whether my thinking was okay or not. Here the hand:

And here my thoughts:
- I'm in the big blind, so I check to see the flop. I did not consider A9 to be good enough for a pre-flop raise
- I hit the flop with my 9 and thus have a medium pair with best kicker, but also the 9 is the highest card on the board, thus the only danger I see for the moment is a villain's pocket pair matching one of the cards giving him a set. I don't think anybody has a high pocket pair, because everybody limped. Therefore I call the raise of my pre-bettor, the one after me folds.
- The turn brings a T, which doesn't help me, but could give the villain a straight, except his betting didn't seem to fit that. So now I am thinking he has actually not improved and just c-bets to keep up the pressure. I'll respond with all-in since I was pot commited anyways and there still was a chance to get a second Ace on the board. However, the villain does not fold, but calls.
- The river shows a 4, not doing anything and he has two pairs 88 and TT, which beat my 99.

Where is the mistake in my thinking, or was it played okay and it just turned out bad?

I appreciate the help.

Last edited by Seth Gulch; Wed May 11, 2011 at 03:26 PM..

Old
Wed May 11, 2011, 03:35 PM
(#2)
Since: Jul 2010
Hey Seth, welcome to the pso and the forum.
Not a terrible play here..I would think the same on the smallish bet on the turn, but I don't have a history of the player. So did you have any read on the player?