Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Live Game Sweats and Online Tournaments / Skill League /

Poker terminology.

Old
Red face
Poker terminology. - Fri Jul 22, 2011, 11:53 AM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2011
I have only been playing Poker for a short while and I am incredibly ancient so it is very difficult for me to learn.

Along the way I have managed to pick up most of the terminology and acronyms; UTG, BB, SB etc.

Why only today it suddenly dawned on me what ATC means. Any Two Cards. Right?

My education has come on by leaps and bounds since I started playing in the PSO though. Amongst the Terms I have learned the meaning of are;
Donk - Anyone who beats you.
F***ing Donk - anyone who beats you when you have AA or KK.

Could someone confirm that I have those last two correct.

Old
Fri Jul 22, 2011, 01:32 PM
(#2)
Since: May 2011
Unfortunately one of the draw backs to playing on-line is that people like to hide behind the screen and hurl abuse. The latter term you used is just someone being abusive for being beat and should be ignored but the term Donk is correct depending upon the play you make. There is a type of bet that can correctly be called a "Donk Bet" although people generally use the term "Donk" to show contempt or to give abuse to another player.

I believe Donk (Donkey) is any of the following:

1. An unskilled player, often one who plays extremely loosely, yet passively.
2. Donkey; fish.
3. To call a raise and then lead out with a bet on the following street.

The latter is also known as a donk bet, playing out of position etc. If you win that type of play (calling a raise and then betting) you have made donk bet or donk play. Especially where your cards were behind pre-flop.

Happy to be put right by the experts if I am wide of the mark at all.

Old
Fri Jul 22, 2011, 01:36 PM
(#3)
Since: Oct 2010
BronzeStar
YOU GOT THE LAST TWO RIGHT

Old
Sat Jul 23, 2011, 06:55 AM
(#4)
Since: Apr 2011
BronzeStar