Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions / Old Hand Analysis Section /

2nl: QJ limp leads to big pot

Old
2nl: QJ limp leads to big pot - Tue Aug 09, 2011, 08:44 AM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2010
I rarely limp into pots, except sometimes with small pairs if I am new to the table or think nobody is paying attention. In this case I made an exception, thinking QJ offsuit might play ok in a multiway pot in position. If I recall correctly, SB was fairly new to the table, but had already shown a tendency to limp a few pots himself, so I wasn't viewing him as a particularly strong player.

I got a nice flop with second pair and a straight draw. SB's bet looked like a probable top pair but I was happy to call, thinking this could get very lucrative if I improved.

Hitting the straight on the turn, I still put SB on a K, though it was also possible he had a J and had hit the straight too. I sized my raise with a view to getting the rest of my stack in on the river with a less than pot sized bet.

The bet into me on the river was a surprise, but I'll be honest and admit I didn't really take the time to evaluate it. I was keen to get all the chips in, the backdoor flush seemed such a long shot, and the best he could likely have was the same straight I had. I went ahead and shoved as planned. Unsurprisingly, SB called.

In retrospect, the first lesson I want to learn from this hand is to keep cool in big pots and think clearly before making my best decision. But I didn't properly range SB on the river because I didn't want to then be faced with a tough decision. Easier to just shove as planned. Fishy reasoning I know, but I'm sure I'm not alone in struggling to eliminate this sort of play from my game. I think I'm improving but its a long struggle.

But back to the hand. I'm now thinking a call on the river would have been my best option. Anyone for folding? Or was I right to just plough on?

[SB] (3.8)
[BB] (2.11)
[1] P1 (2.03)
[2] P2 (1.99)