Home / Community / Forum / Support Area / Poker News /

Working my way up/ A little boasting and some advice please.

Old
Working my way up/ A little boasting and some advice please. - Thu Aug 18, 2011, 12:49 PM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2011
I started playing poker a couple years ago, and I did like most people, I lost some money and i ended up very frustrated. Then I ran into some trouble, some medical trouble aswell, and I stopped playing.

Long story short, at the beginning of July I came back and started learning here at Pokerschool. I realized quickly, I had a couple major leaks in my game. Not that this was surprising in any way, I was very much aware that I was a losing player.

So, I deposited 25€ and gave it another shot, mainly playing the ten and twentyfive cents MTT's. It turns out, that with the plugged leak's (some anyway) I seem to be doing okay. The deposit of 25€ came to like 36 dollar which today stands at 56 dollar.

I know that 56 dollar is not really a BR, but the fact that I seem to end up ITM a fair amount of the time gives me such a rush - playing poker became a lot more fun lately. And searching "Crumblepie" at OPR brings a smile to my face when I check my results for the last 120 days, I actually get to see a positive ROI.

I like MTT's with 90 ppl and up, and I like it slow, the turbo's are not my cup of tea. So after cheking the tournamentlobby, if the time comes to move up, I would like to move up to the $ 1.50 90 ppl Knockout tournaments, as they have 15 minute levels.

Which leaves us with the question, what BR should I have before I move up?

Oh, and ofcourse, thank you to pokerschool. umbsup:

Old
Thu Aug 18, 2011, 02:16 PM
(#2)
Since: Aug 2010
BronzeStar
first, answer this:

Would it hurt you severely financially if you lost ALL the $56 you have right now?

If the answer is NO, then there is no MONETARY reason for you to not to move up right now.

You see...

You are playing on a "bank roll" if 2 conditions are BOTH met: