Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions / Old Hand Analysis Section /

Multilple blunders

Old
Multilple blunders - Mon Sep 12, 2011, 01:18 PM
(#1)
Since: May 2011
My idea was to 3 bet the raiser to 5.1 BB's. He was fairly tight player and I ranged him on a large A or 1010 or maybe JJ. I clicked on the wrong preset button so my raise was smaller than I had hoped. I also spewed by trying to rep the A high flop with a bet.

Larger preflop 3 bet? Check the flop? Call the shove? Shove preflop which was strongly considered.

Thanks in advance,

Dale

Old
Mon Sep 12, 2011, 01:29 PM
(#2)
Since: Sep 2011
BronzeStar
Im no expert but in my personal oppinion i would have went in pre flop no questions, i wouldnt have bet that on the flop either i would have checked to try and gauge a reaction

Old
Mon Sep 12, 2011, 01:53 PM
(#3)
The UTG raise did show strength from this villian. The 2X raise was a bit confusing, possibly showing some weakness.

My intention was a larger preflop raise, which likely would have resulted in a shove from the villian or a fold. I was willing to call his shove...So if I was...why not get it in and put the decision on him???

Geez.

Not sure if it would have mattered in the end...I do think he held JJ giving him a set on the flop.

Enjoy,

Dale

Old
Mon Sep 12, 2011, 01:55 PM
(#4)
Since: Oct 2010
BronzeStar
Gross misclick. Nothing you can do on that flop and your stack size prevents you from making a good move. I'd probably check/give up unless you think he can turn hands like 88 or T9 into a bluff (but even then it's pretty marginal). You're out of position with a pretty weak hand in this spot. You do have a gutshot to the nuts, but it's on a terrible board.