Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions / Old Hand Analysis Section /

Fifty-Fifty ($15 buy in) hand analysis - Folding set of Trips?

Old
Exclamation
Fifty-Fifty ($15 buy in) hand analysis - Folding set of Trips? - Mon Sep 12, 2011, 11:13 PM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2011
THIS Hand is for Analysis and comment by any poker school members this week - my answer to what actually happened and how and why I played the hand next week: Please read and vote if you think I should "Call All-in" or "Fold" in the given situation below when I made a set of trips on the flop:

Hi All, I recently started playing $3.50, $7 and $15 buy in One Table "Fifty-Fifty" tournaments. They are a great lot of fun and require some skill to make the top five positions. The objective is to come 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th or 5th out of 10 players, or loose your buy-in, and make as many chips as possible by the bubble when 5 players are left to make some money. It is fairly easy to do with consistent play. The $1.50 and $3.50 tables are fairly general players, and the $7 and $15 tables have good amateur players who know their poker ($30 and above buy-in tables have experienced multi-tablers and professionals so best to avoid these levels without a lot of training and experience).

Here is an opening hand in a $15 buy in "Fifty-Fifty" I played this morning. Usually the opening hand is very quit as everybody is risk adverse and tight in the early stages of a 50-50, it is pass the blinds around and let’s have a cup-of-tea kind of stuff....usually:

Players: 10 handed, first hand of 50-50 $15 buy-in tournament, starting chips are 1500, all equal, and blinds are SB15 and BB30. Players in this hand:
Player "Z" is in the Big Blind and is unknown to me
Player "L" is Mid-position seat 1 is a regular tight-aggressive player, loves premium opening hands and will c-bet whenever he makes a partial hand or has good hole cards