Home / Community / Forum / Support Area / Poker News /

About Stud...

Old
About Stud... - Wed Oct 05, 2011, 10:16 AM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2011
I played in the Stud freeroll, and I must say, I do not have a clue.

What openinghands am I looking for?

And what are the hands I am looking for in general? I mean, like in PLO, 2 pair or a set is often not good enough.

So yeah, any tips would be appreciated.

Old
Wed Oct 05, 2011, 10:54 AM
(#2)
Opening hands, you have 3 cards instead of 2, so definitely play high pairs and connectors.

Watch out for unsupported flush draws.

Read opponents... but above all, read the outs on the board... if everyone else keeps getting them...

Old
Wed Oct 05, 2011, 11:03 AM
(#3)
Since: Feb 2011
okay I'm no expert it this either but, as far as opening hands go, I like to see suitedness, connectedness, and pairs, BUT (and its a BIG but) in stud you always have to be VERY cognisant of the other players windows (their up cards), because these can turn what could be a really nice starting hand into trash in the blink of an eye. and they can turn what could be an iffy starting hand into an okay starting hand if all of your outs are still live. so be extremely aware of all the dead cards that could make or break your hand, as your drawing odds are so heavily dependent on knowing these cards. hope that get you started on the right foot. GL MT
oh and in stud most often two pair and sets are definitely good enough, as long as you don't see straight possibilities or flush possibilities and villains windows. again goodluck

Last edited by mtnestegg; Wed Oct 05, 2011 at 11:15 AM..

Old
Wed Oct 05, 2011, 11:38 AM
(#4)
Since: Jul 2010
When playing regular stud, and not h/l, 2 pr or a set can be a very good hand and I will call down with less very often. It depends on the board and reads, but a pair can be quite good enough to call down 1 bet on 6th and 7th street. People love to bet missed draws.