Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions / Old Hand Analysis Section /

Too cautious to bet the river

Old
Too cautious to bet the river - Sat Oct 08, 2011, 02:23 PM
(#1)
Since: Jan 2011
Hello ,

One of my main issues in cash poker is being all too cautious on the river , always concerned that a bet will be raised or beaten & I find myself particularly checking behind just to take down the pot as it is , if I have the best hand .

Here is a classic example - perhaps I need more bottle .

Can you offer me some advice about 'pulling the trigger' instead of thinking I might lose the individual trial ?

Surely I should have bet for value here . Bad beats and suck outs are taking there toll .

JARGON1977

Last edited by JARGON1977; Sat Oct 08, 2011 at 02:55 PM..

Old
Sat Oct 08, 2011, 02:53 PM
(#2)
Since: Aug 2010
BronzeStar
i think in this example it's not so bad that u checked! i am not a pro but if he plays KQ the he is extracting cash from u! so keep thinking what he might be playing and what beats u. with this board u are not sure u are holding the nuts and he is following evry bet u make down to the river. u could have betted for value but i wonder if he paid it?

gl

Old
Sat Oct 08, 2011, 03:29 PM
(#3)
Since: Jun 2010
Value betting the river depends on your read of you opponent. Loose calling station opponents I'm willing to value bet pretty thin, if they station TP no kicker through the river than you should definitely value bet the river, if your opponent is tight and wont go to showdown without a strong holding than you should be more cautions betting the river. In this particular case I think top 2 pair is worth a value bet on the river, villains line seems like a flush draw, weak pair of Aces, maybe even just a pair of Jacks. I would have expected villain to bet the river if he made a hand that could beat top 2. I probably would have stuck another 60% of the pot on the river.

Old
Sat Oct 08, 2011, 04:46 PM
(#4)