Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Building initial bankroll at micro level..

Old
Question
Building initial bankroll at micro level.. - Sat Oct 29, 2011, 09:02 AM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2011
Ok, I've been playing poker off and on for about 3 years now.. Never especially seriously, at the start I think I invested either $10 or maybe $20 as my initial deposit and just played with that.. mostly micro SNG tourneys, quite a few double or nothings, and a tiny amount of ring stuff..

I never took it too seriously and eventually when my balance dropped to just over $1 I stopped playing for a while..

Anyway, the last month or so I've started playing again, and studying a bit more poker theory. Through playing a few of the 45 man SNGs 1 or two of the 10c MTTs, and lately a fair bit of 2c/4c FL ring, I've grown my $1 into $7.. plus I won $13 from one of the new timed tourneys. (I deposited to get the free ticket and then cashed out my $30 deposit later)

So I'm now sitting on $20..

I've downloaded the trial of Poker Tracker 3, and decided it's my goal to build my bankroll up to $50 before the trial ends so I can buy the micro stakes version, then carry on. Gives me 60 days...

I think my best bet is to keep playing the 2c/4c FL ring games.. I've only imported the last few days history into PT, but it shows that I've played about 4.5 hours, 225 hands, and won $1.61..
I'm also comfortable 2-tabling at this limit.

The tourneys on the other hand take too long.. (~2hrs for a 45 man sng) so I think maybe my $/hr would be less.. I can't remember, think I played around 5 of those lately, came first in one, 6th in another, and out of the money for the rest. Plus of course it's much less often that I can dedicate 2 hours to a tourney, whereas I can dip in and out of cash games whenever I like..