Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Member Blogs / Member of the Month /

Another application

Old
Another application - Fri Nov 18, 2011, 02:33 PM
(#1)
Since: Jun 2010
Hi all,

I'm also applying for member of the week

I started playing in early 2009 on Zinga poker on facebook (didn't know better...LOL). I then got interested but needed to learn the basics, so went to the nearest book store and bought a book on poker. I then continued to play on that site by applying what I had learned and accumulated millions of dollars (woohoo)

Like most people, I was ready for the big jump........ real money. Nope I didn't invest $20 on an online site, I took the high road. I went to Vegas to play in the $1,000 Seniors WSOP. For a first real money and live tournament, it turned out to be a successful journey, finishing 96th out of 2,701. I then came home and joined an online site which was sponsoring the WSOP and deposited $50. I played a first tournament of $20 and finished first for >$2,700 and the next day I finished 7th in another $20 for >$650. From this point on, I thought I was good............... LOL.

Then came the wake up call, after losing thousands (yes I did) I opened an account with PokerStars and then joined the Poker School Online in June 2010. This is where I learned about patience, position and bankroll management. After winning $30 in the first month, I've accumulated my winnings since. I play NLHoldem 99% of the time .

I'm still in the learning process, the videos, the live trainings, the books and continuous practicing do make me a better player. Lately I've been reviewing my hands to see what I did wrong and have noticed that even the winning hands have faults......

Being an active contributor to this forum is not easy, as I often get to involve in some threads (no books or videos to learn from on this subject ) The T.I.C. Club and the Drunk Tanks are 2 of my favorite hang out places to relax (thanks Eff)

So what have I learned to date: