Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Member Blogs / Member of the Month /

Application

Old
Application - Fri Nov 18, 2011, 04:05 PM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2010
I would like to be considered for member of the week for this week and in the future. My name is Joy, I am a retired IT manager 58 years young. I first got interested in NLHE through watching it on TV, I wasn't familiar with this particular poker game prior to that time. I checked out quite a few poker sites, but liked PS best from the first. Since Daniel Negreanu is one of my favourite players and Canadian as well, it seemed like a good idea to play here.

I started with play money in December 2010, and I didn't realize that you could get more money if you lost the initial $1K, so I played very carefully to build up my stake. By the time I reached $200K, I was playing the Astronomer freerolls and trying to win some real money. I had some limited success, and had $1.02 in my bankroll when I received an email from PS saying that they were giving me $5 to help me on my way. The rest, as they say, is history.

My bankroll had some ups and downs, but I managed to stay afloat. I played a lot of .02 990 and .10 360 tourneys to slowly build my BR. I was super conservative, since I had agreed with my husband never to deposit. I was determined to start from zero and build my BR by winning.