Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Challenges & Battleground & Member Blogs /

6-max Grinding Through the Micros Challenge

Old
6-max Grinding Through the Micros Challenge - Tue Nov 22, 2011, 06:46 AM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2010
After attending the 6-max live training sessions here on PSO I have decided to have a go at this challenge. Yes I know I'm late starting it but hopefully Felix is still running bad and I can catch up a little!! I don't expect to be able to reach the $400 by the end of the year but I'm more interested in using this to improve my game.

Little bit of background on me, I started playing poker a few years ago and I'm a recreational player with a job and a girlfriend so I can't play as much as I would like to. I have mostly played full ring starting with a $50 deposit. I cleard the bonus on that, withdrew my initial $50 and have played with my winnings ever since. I played through 2NL, 5NL and up to 10NL where I've been running so bad I nearly halved my bankroll and lost a bit of motivation so I decided to have a bit of a change and give 6-max a try. I have a good idea about the concepts needed to crush the micro stakes but sometimes struggle with applying them correctly, value betting and aggression spring to mind.

My plan for this challenge is to start with $80 and 4-table 2NL to make $20 as quick as possible and then take shots at 5NL playing 2 tables at first and see how well I can pick up reads and type notes etc. I WILL NOT PLAY MORE THAN 4 TABLES (that was me shouting at myself!!). If I lose the $20 I will move back down to 2NL and rinse repeat till I make it stick at 5NL.

I will hopefully update this blog weekly but as this is my first attempt at anything like this then that might not happen. Also I may need some help with posting graphs and the hand replayer thing so if someone can let me know how to do that I'd be very grateful. I have HEM for graphs.

Thankyou for reading this, sorry for wasting so much of your day!!

Old