Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

Facing River all-in with 2-Pair / Ace Kicker

Old
Facing River all-in with 2-Pair / Ace Kicker - Tue Nov 29, 2011, 12:13 PM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2011
Hi All

This was the 4th hand of last week's Sunday Storm (qualified by satellite) and I would appreciate a second opinion. No reads or prior information on opponents. I have no tournament experience with stacks greater than 2500 chips.

I called with my AJ because of position, low call to stack ratio - but didn't want to raise as it's a hand that can get me in trouble. Typically I want to keep the pot small with this hand, but I wonder whether a small raise would have been correct given the size of our stacks in relation to blinds. (Perhaps this caution is due to most of my limited experience in games with 1500 stacks). As it is by not raising the SB and BB now have better odds to call.

Flop is okay, but not entirely sure where I stand and with one person to act after me am happy to call. With 3 opponents and an overcard it's quite possible I'm behind.

It's checked round on the turn so I bet into the pot, although I confess to an uneasy feeling at this point. I tried to make the bet large enough to discourage flush drawers. I suppose it was strictly, but another caller would have made it more marginal and the implied odds for a caller are probably there. In hindsight a larger bet here would have clarified things.

Do I call the all-in with my 2 pair / ace kicker?

Old
Tue Nov 29, 2011, 02:09 PM
(#2)
Since: Oct 2010
BronzeStar
Quote:
but didn't want to raise as it's a hand that can get me in trouble
Usually you want to raise with a hand that can get you into trouble, to try to end the hand before reverse implied odds kick in.