Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

AQo bad spot or poorly played?

Old
AQo bad spot or poorly played? - Sun Dec 04, 2011, 01:07 AM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2011
Hi Guys,

I'm new to playing poker and PSO. I busted out of a micro SNG with this hand, was wondering if I could have played this any better and got away from my AQo? My initial thoughts were I was possibly facing a steal attempt so I raised pre-flop, then I felt with the A on the flop I was commited to my hand.

Thanks in advance

http://www.pokerschoolonline.com/rep...ash=9538C3B8BE

Old
Sun Dec 04, 2011, 01:46 AM
(#2)
Since: Sep 2010
BronzeStar
Hey Dasher, if you'd like to put the whole replay in the forum, hit the link builder, and select forum, and just copy that link to the forum, it will come up like this example.

Old
Sun Dec 04, 2011, 01:48 AM
(#3)
Since: Aug 2010
BronzeStar
Pre Flop:

You start with 29.7BB in your stack.
A large stack in the high jack chair makes a standard raise (3BB to go).
You 3bet to 700.
Villain calls

On this stack size, you still have enough chips to flat call and play fit or fold poker.
If you try to 3bet him, a standard sizing would be on the order of 750 to 900 to go, and that has you fast approaching a comittment point.
Your 700 3bet is not that far from that amount.
You do not really have enough chips to like making a standard half pot C-Bet then fold if you have missed the flop (and you will miss about 2/3rds of the time).

Because of your stack size, I think I would really prefer a flat call over the 3bet you made.

Things that might change my mind here would be:

1) You have the villain on a wide raise range from the HJ chair.
2) You feel there is a strong chance he will fold IMMEDIATELY to your raise if he holds a slightly stronger hand that yours (like a small or medium pp).
3) You feel he will fol quite frequently to a C-Bet.

Flop: