Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Live Game Sweats and Online Tournaments / Skill League /

Not for me.....

Old
Not for me..... - Thu Dec 15, 2011, 07:22 PM
(#1)
Since: Feb 2010
Hi fellow PSO'ers,

I'm not looking for sympathy here (coz I know there isn't any), but I'd just like to give my tuppence worth of thoughts on the PSO Open League (or 'Bingo' as some of you affectionately call it!).

First of all, I play poker simply to challenge myself building a bankroll from nothing, while at the same time having 'fun & enjoyment' from the game. If I manage to do both then great.

I've been playing poker on & off since around 1999. I've probably spent as much time studying the game as I have played. Mistake perhaps?, but I guess we all have to do our homework !

Read books (Harrington on Holdem, Sklansky Theory, Brunson Super System & many others), watching videos on the forum as well as clips by Jonathan Little, Marty Smith, Colin Moshman, FlopTurnRiver clips, Cardrunners & many others. Literally hours & hours of vids that are much appreciated.

But, 'reading & watching' is the easy part, 'absorbing' this vast amount of information is another matter entirely.....and then.... putting it into practise on the tables is where the 'fun' bit kicks in, or at least that's what I naively thought leading up to my assault on the PSO Open League. What a wake up call that is!! LOL!

I read quite a few threads on the forum regarding the league and took on board alot of the concepts & strategies needed to get up the ladder as high as possible. The 'Burn & Fold' idea seemed quite intriguing, so I gave it a go.

Have to say that in it's defence, this 'harsh' strategy DOES WORK to some degree. However, my 'enjoyment' of the game deteriorated a great deal. I'm the type of person that when something stops being 'enjoyable' then I start to lose interest quite quickly & find no point in carrying on.