Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

K9s situational gamble, or recklessness at tight table rewarded?

Old
K9s situational gamble, or recklessness at tight table rewarded? - Thu Dec 22, 2011, 08:27 AM
(#1)
Since: Dec 2011
Hey guys, I'll admit I'm pretty new to really trying to analyze my play and think deeper during action, but I've played poker a couple of years now and I want to get better and improve.

So here is the question - Was this the right play?

This was a tight table early tournament, pretty much everyone played passive/tight including myself and the blinds were starting to get heavier for me. I wanted to play a bit more aggressively (a rare thing for me) to pick up some blinds. K9s came up so I just played a big blind raise from early position, 1 caller.

Flop gives me a straight flush draw, I check, he bets low, I figure he probably has a hand but I guessed my outs would crush a possible pair, 2 pair. Since he is quite tight I thought about betting half his stack to bully him out. He goes all in, I call, leaving me with very little if i lose, but if I folded I would be short-stacked. In hindsight I should have analyzed the pot odds but I just punched the call button.

Was pursuing this hand at a tight table a measured gamble? or just recklessness that got luck on the river?

Old
Thu Dec 22, 2011, 09:10 AM
(#2)
Since: Sep 2010
Preflop is an easy fold, imo. Flop is quite interesting, though.

Preflop:

Even at a tight table, you want to avoid playing hands from the first three or four positions. When you open, if anyone does call you, you'll usually be out of position, so you might as well play most of your hands when you'll be in position so you'll almost always have an edge. I'd prefer a fold here, although opening KJs would have a good case behind it if this was a tight table.