Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

When to go to bigger stakes?

Old
When to go to bigger stakes? - Mon Jan 09, 2012, 07:41 AM
(#1)
Since: Jun 2011
Hi all.

Currently I am out of pocket about 3G over the past 2-3 years.

I make deposit approx $25 once a month (it's cheaper than going to the movies). I seem to be able to double it, even tripple it. I'm not an expert and I think my poker skills are good. But every time I move up in stakes, I just run into a better hand or get sucked out and lose my roll.

How do I stop this from happening? Please do not say "slug it it out low stakes games".
When (if ever) do I get a break?

I do not believe that online poker is rigged, on the contrary, a player must be more than aware and evaluate every action taken from every player and I respect the subtle differences between online and bricks and mortar games.. I do not believe that I am a bad player either.

My question is: from a $25 deposit, doubling or trippling up, what is the next move?

I prefer .5/.10 PLO cash games. $7 NL 18 seater SNG and $3 rebuy tourneys.

My comfort zone is .5/.10 PLO and $7 NL 18 seater Holdem. Tonight I stepped outside my comfort zone, I hopped into a $1/$2 PLO game. Sat with approx $67. Within less than 5 mins was above $100. Then I get caught up in a hand.... I flopped trips and an open ended straight draw, my opponent pushed all in on the turn for about $60+ and I had to call. "BAMM" hit his flush on the river.

Based upon the info provided, what games should I be playing and why?

Appreciate some feedback.
Thank you.

Last edited by Aus-Redda; Mon Jan 09, 2012 at 07:45 AM..

Old
Mon Jan 09, 2012, 08:02 AM
(#2)
Since: Apr 2010
BronzeStar
Keep to your comfort zone and dont take all your bankroll to the tables.

Old
Mon Jan 09, 2012, 08:35 AM
(#3)
Since: Dec 2010
**moved**

Quintuple Bracelet Winner

Old
Mon Jan 09, 2012, 11:41 AM
(#4)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Hi Aus-Redda!