Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

27-man SnG JJ

Old
27-man SnG JJ - Sat Jan 14, 2012, 09:39 AM
(#1)
Since: Sep 2010
Ok I started playing some 27-man SnG's and came across this hand:

Information on opponents:

The pot opener was playing very tight and is a regular at these and very easy to pick up the pot if he misses the board, the other one was a complete blank for me.

I got JJ and decided to just call him, I would say his range at that position this early in the tournament could be:

99+, AJs, AQ-AK.

I didn't raise because I really didn't want to make a huge pot pre-flop against him and because there is a fair amount of hands he could beat me with I decided to play it calm.

So first the hand:

So the flop, doesn't look too bad. He makes a bet as first to act, well I know from yesterday when I played multiple of these also with him in it that he lakes to C-bet. So I decided to raise him, then the 2nd opponent calls and Grem raises, I was thinking about what possible hands he would shove with here. So I put him at maybe 88, maybe TT would be an option and QQ+ so with 21bb left I decided to fold, which turned out pretty good. I came back to 2K chips and eventually got eliminated with, ironically, JJ, vs AK.

Anyway, my questions: Should I have made a raise on this guy pre-flop to shorten his ranges a little bit? Should I have just lay down my hand after the bet on the flop? Or was the raise the right decision to make? And because of the fact the pot was so big should I have just called with JJ after the shove?

Thank you

ps. Making notes on opponents is very helpful

Old
Sat Jan 14, 2012, 01:54 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Head Trainer)
Hi taomage,