Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Challenges & Battleground & Member Blogs /

Inside Track of a Deep Stack

Old
Inside Track of a Deep Stack - Thu Jan 26, 2012, 12:56 PM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2011
(Community Coordinator)
A friend of mine asked me how I would approach a Deep Stack tournament and what would my strategy be. Initially I told him that I've little experience of the subject but the question burned away at the back of my mind for ages.

Initially I figured that I would approach it the same as any other Multi Table Tournament. Eventually I got around to doing a little research on the subject and that the end result was that I decided to put together a blog with a few pointers to Deep Stack play.

I'd love other PSO users to have a look and comment on whether they agree with me or not. I'm especially interested to hear from any members who have a lot of Deep Stack tournament experience to share those experiences with us.

You can find the blog by clicking HERE

Raiser

Bracelet Winner

Old
Mon Aug 20, 2012, 02:52 PM
(#2)
Since: Oct 2011
Hey guys,

I tried some of the deepstacked tournaments, but didn't run well. I played 3 of them, and lasted 3-4 hours, but kept getting short of the money. I noticed everybody at my table was.playing very tight (except for 1 or 2 loose passive stations). I kept losing flips, which I did try to avoid, but you can't get away from QQ vs AK.

Too bad these tournaments dont run too often, and the buy ins are 11$ and up. I love these deep stacked tournaments, and I'm also looking forward to playing 1 of the WCOOP events (through satellites).

I agree with playing a LAG style, which I also use for deep stacked (250 BBs) 6max cash games.

Tom