Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

The Right Mindset

Old
The Right Mindset - Fri Feb 10, 2012, 05:09 AM
(#1)
Since: Jan 2012
You need to have the "right" mindset when playing poker or your play will suffer.

This may seem obvious for many, but how often do you actually refrain from playing because you are not in the right frame of mind? Moreover, how do you actually get into the right mindset and stay there?

Ketchup143 posted a question about staying positive.. I thought my approach may be useful. I'm no pro, and I've never won a big MTT. In other words, I have plenty of experience losing and ending with "close but no cigar" finishes. I've played about 10 000 tourneys, and I have learned to have fun while playing.

Before Logging in to Pokerstars
Ask yourself these questions:
  • **What is my emotional state right now - tired, angry, sad or sick?
  • **Can I focus on playing poker right now - distracted by work, tv, the kids?
  • **What are my poker "beliefs" right now - convinced you are going to lose, get rivered on the bubble, poker is rigged, someone flipped the doom switch?

If you are experiencing any of these points, then you don't have an optimal mindset. Your best line is to refrain from logging in and wait for a better situation. Every poker book I've read talks about the importance of being in the right frame of mind when you are playing.

I've got the Proper Mindset, now what?
OK, so you are feeling good and logg in to Pokerstars. What can go wrong now?
  • **Don't play with scared money! Bankroll management is always important. Don't reg for buyin levels outside your comfort zone. It will impact your play.
  • **If you suffer a few bad beats, don't reg for a higher buyin level in order to recoup your losses! You don't "deserve to win", you are on tilt!
  • **If you suffer a major cooler in a game, but are still alive, recognize that you may be on tilt!