Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Tournament VS. Cash

Old
Question
Tournament VS. Cash - Sat Feb 18, 2012, 12:48 AM
(#1)
Since: Jun 2011
Been playing more cash than usual lately, and when I do, it seems like my Tournement game suffers for quite a while before I can get back into the swing of it.

Last month I was finally seeing real impovements in my Tournement play (my main focus since I started realy playing poker last May.) I made my first real cash (Shipped the Bigger $5.50.) toward the end of the month.

So with some of the money I started playing Cash (been wanting to work on it for a while now, but never had a signifficant bankroll.) At first it was a spew fest. I was playing the 10NLs, and it was durring the 75 Billion hand thing, so I was playing more tables than I should have been. Over approx 1500 hands I dropped just over $30 in about 10 Days.

I switched over to the 5NLs and throughout February I've grinded my way to more than a $45 profit (11,000+ hands, 16 Days.) Giving me just over a $15 profit for the year so far. SO hooray, I'm happy my Cash game has started to improve.

But then, over the last couple of days, every time I log on to play a tournement, my resaults are terrible. And almost immediately see the mistakes I'm making, as soon as it's too late to do anything about it! (EDITORS NOTE: I did just manage to final table the Premiere League, but I did make some early mistakes that could have been very costly.)

Anyway, just as a point of conversation: How do you deal with switching back and fourth between Tournements and Cash Games? And should you even switch back and forth, or should you just concentrate on one for a while?

What are some of the hardest tendencies to break away from when You're switching back and forth?

Looking forward to hearind your responses.

Last edited by BandShooter; Sat Feb 18, 2012 at 07:05 AM.. Reason: Spelling/grammar. Probably still missed some! lol

Old