Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

How can I improve my game?

Old
How can I improve my game? - Tue Feb 28, 2012, 08:19 PM
(#1)
Since: Feb 2012
Hello everyone,

I am an absolute noob when it comes to poker. In fact, I've been playing for less than 24 hours. On Pokerstars, I am playing Texas Holdem full circle, no limit.

I eventually want to play for real money, but I know that I am a long way from doing that because I honestly don't know what I'm doing.

I've watched the first three or four "Level 1" poker basics videos found here http://www.pokerschoolonline.com/art...utorial-Videos

It seems like quite a lot of information and vocabulary to absorb, and I've been taking some notes.

Basically, what I've been doing on Pokerstars is playing like I am on auto-pilot. It seems like I fold way too much even though I continuously get dealt bad hands. I'm not sure if you're supposed to fold so much.

I start with the minimum buy-in (40) and just fold anything I don't like. The highest I've ever ended with was ~200.

A friend of mine told me that I should play 4 tables simultaneously just so that I can get faster at reading boards.

He also told me to always have 50* the buy in to manage my bankroll before I start playing for microsteaks which is 0.01/0.02.

But yeah, that's really all I know right now and I sort of feel like I'm stuck.

Old
Tue Feb 28, 2012, 09:00 PM
(#2)
Since: Aug 2010
BronzeStar
You're one step ahead of me when I was a beginner ... I used to play every single hand! People would get soooo frustrated with me ('fish', 'burro', etc)

I didn't know any better!

Hopefully somebody'll be along soon who's better able to get you started with a plan ... GL at the tables, and welcome!!

Old
Wed Feb 29, 2012, 01:53 AM
(#3)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Hi Neil141!

Welcome to the fourm.