Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / New Members /

hello and an intro to milehigh

Old
hello and an intro to milehigh - Sat Mar 10, 2012, 06:41 AM
(#1)
Since: Aug 2011
ok i was going to use the MOM competition to introduce my self but as its no longer running here it is,i started playing poker a few years back during a period of unemployment,playing on a free site i scored a ticket worth $25 usd real money from a freeroll during a promotion period,to try out a real money site.after a few freerolls there and a dabble on the cash tables i decided to give the weekly $10k gaurantee tourney a run,so i pulled out my glass grabbed a bottle of jim and went to it,about 7-8 hours later i was pretty charged up and on the final table and made it to heads up an took 2nd place for $1600,from here i was pretty much hooked with the poker bug.i scored a few more good cashes on the site before they banned/disallowed australian players,which led me to opening an account here at pokerstars,where i have had mixed successes but as a whole would be in the minus profits,this i attribute to the style i was playing where id made a bit of cash before getting here and was only playing tournament poker so i didnt mind having to reload my account,and this being a larger site with bigger prizes obviously there will be more stronger players to compete with. Only recently i changed my outlook,yeah i play for fun but at the end of the day i guess we all want to be profitable players,so i've started studying and trying to learn more about the game to improve my play and become a profitable player at what ever level im playing at from micros through to bigger buy ins,br management wasnt even something i thought about before because as i said i was 'ahead overall' and didnt mind reloading to play in a tournament if need be,but since my change in perspective towards the game and what i want out of it im struggling a little as i seem to be doing the 3 steps forward 2 steps back thing,as im now t