Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Discouraged

Old
Discouraged - Tue Mar 13, 2012, 12:05 AM
(#1)
Since: Feb 2012
WhiteStar
Hi I am new to the forums but would like some help. I am getting discouraged as I am not good at math at all but I am getting tired of playing play money poker and would like to start playing for real money but in low stakes like the micro SNG and some tournaments. I can figure my outs but when it comes to the math part of it for figuring out the pot odds and percentages that is were the problems start if I don’t have a calculator in front of me I am done.I feel like I am a ok player I play tight only playing good hands.I was wondering can someone who is not a great math person can they still play money games and still have a good chance at winning or should they just forget about it. I am doing the core course and understanding it except the math part. I am sorry for the length of my post but I do hope some one can give me some incite on my dilemma.
Thank you

Old
Tue Mar 13, 2012, 12:46 AM
(#2)
Since: Sep 2010
Hi marc.

Learning poker just takes study and practice. If you flunked out of kindergarten, then maybe it`s not the game for you. But it is learnable to just about anyone, since the math isn`t horribly complex. Just keep studying, keep playing at the play money tables, and when you feel ready to move to real money games, give it a shot. If you end up feeling like real money games are too stressful, you can always move back to play money games and just go at it for fun.

Welcome to the forum! If you need any help finding new resources to study, take a look at this link. And feel free to post any questions you have; there are lots of people to help!

Enjoy!

Old
Tue Mar 13, 2012, 05:23 AM
(#3)
Since: Nov 2011
Try fuzzy logic :)

Old
Tue Mar 13, 2012, 10:29 AM
(#4)
Since: Jun 2010
Have to say there are lots of shortcuts for the math it does not have to be a dead on thing.