Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

What to play?

Old
What to play? - Fri Mar 16, 2012, 12:30 PM
(#1)
Since: Mar 2012
Hey whats up guys, ive been playing poker once in a while since my youth but as i find myself studying math in college, i figured that playing poker could be a fun, relaxing way to get my head out of my studies. After going up and down for a few weeks, i ended up losing my entire bankroll (10$, not that bad lol).

I decided to practice with play money, went through all the PSO courses and even read one of Phil Gordon's book.

After reloading for an extra 10$, i thought that i would be able to get some succes in some very low stakes MTT/SNG tournaments, but i didnt. I lost it all, again.

I took a little time away frome the game being way too frustrated to keep playing.

About two weeks ago I started practicing even harder with play money/PSO skill league and actually, things started to click a little bit more. I dont win every single hand/tournament im involve in, but im able to get some succes, constantly.

So now im thinking about adding some more money on my account by the end of school but heres my real question: WHAT SHOULD I PLAY?

The 0.10$ SNG are only turbos and 3 minutes per level is pretty much playing loto with your chips. There are only two 0.10$ MTT a day and again, the levels last only 5 minutes. So, whats a good way to spend your bankroll if I am playing that kind of stakes?

Thanks!

Old
Fri Mar 16, 2012, 12:41 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Hi jagger02!

Welcome to the forum. Here's a link that will help to get you familiar with everything that PSO has to offer.

When I first started, I built my bankroll before black friday from zero. I started by playing the astronomer freerolls, then the dime turbos and the quarter ($100 added) tournies. The quarter MTT has great value due to the added $$.