Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / New Members /

A bit about myself

Old
A bit about myself - Sun Mar 18, 2012, 03:52 PM
(#1)
Since: Feb 2011
OK I've been around a while but I thought it would be worthwhile to tell you my poker story.

I started playing around 2004 when Betfair (the gambling website) opened it's own poker software (well on the Cryptological network). I didn't have a clue how to play but I played a couple of hands of play money and as it was a gambling site, I put £20 of my gambling budget onto the poker site one night when I was drinking a few beers and the next minute I had over £300 in my account. I really didn't have a clue what I was doing but I remember players railing me and a queue was forming to play me.

I really can't remember the session but I immediately withdrew the £300 and decided to try and learn the game. I suppose had I lost the £20 I'd have put it down to bad experience and never played again. One thing I do remember was someone telling me how to play small pocket pairs. Get in cheap and get out if you don't hit. That was invaluable for me and my first poker secret and something I tell other beginners right at the start of their journey.

As Betfair had just started their software, they ran loads of freerolls to entice players in. This was also a golden age for poker. There was no Poker School Online in those days and players (like me) were so bad that anyone with an ounce of sense could print money at the tables. Sites like Pokerstars were just getting established and most sites were throwing money at the game to entice players to their sites. Betfair was no different and they ran lots of small fields, big prize pools freerolls to get you to play. Instead of depositing I'd play freerolls all day, get to £100 and lift out and start again. I didn't make a load but it was all risk free and I liked this poker game.