Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Challenges & Battleground & Member Blogs /

2NL - 20k hands challenge

Old
2NL - 20k hands challenge - Sun Apr 01, 2012, 01:29 PM
(#1)
Since: May 2011
Hi folks!

My challenge to build $10 to $100 through tournaments didn't go as planned. I was up to $95 and I suddenly started running horribly bad, especially when it came to dominating hands for some reason. My EV graph shows that I should be up to around $200 at this point, instead, I'm down to an embarassing bankroll of 55 bucks. Impressive, huh?

So, I'm giving myself 20.000 hands to get out of 2NL to take shots at 5NL. 20k hands should be more than enough to double my bankroll, but it's nice to have a little more room because I have been running extremely bad for two months now and I didn't even know that it was possible, to be honest.

Thing is, I have way too much fancy play in my style of playing, and it's not going to work here. I'm better at cash games than tournaments, but I prefer to stick to 6-max. I decided to make this a full ring challenge though because of the lower variance and the larger number of fish.

Making this thread, I'm at $56.60 after 750 hands after running into aces with kings three out of four times, and I only got the blinds in the fourth one.

(sorry for the vast amount of text for just a simple challenge, Belzebub took control of my hands from the depths of hell)

---------------------------------
The challenge: Build a bankroll from ~$55 to about $100-$120 in 20.000 hands.

Goal: Improve my micro stakes full ring cash play and eventually move up in stakes; learn to not throw in too much fancy play at this level.

Prize: A hug, an apple, and insight on wasted time for pocket change.
---------------------------------

Total hands: 4000
Current bankroll: $60.09

Last edited by Feskprins; Thu Apr 05, 2012 at 11:35 AM..

Old
Tue Apr 03, 2012, 09:55 PM
(#2)