Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Omaha H/L - Raising pre-flop

Old
Omaha H/L - Raising pre-flop - Tue May 01, 2012, 03:42 PM
(#1)
Since: Aug 2011
Hi all,

I am relatively new to the game of omaha hi/lo and I would like to know people's opinions on raising before the flop.

In hold'em there is a culture of raising before the flop and it seems to be the expected play for whoever is the first person to enter a pot but it's a somewhat less defined for O8. I have read conflicting articles from people who believe it should be rarely done because it is such a flop oriented game and some who believe that raising should be done quite frequently.

I know the two basic reasons to raise is to narrow the field and build a bigger pot but I play in the micro stakes "no fold-em" games so the first assumption does not hold much. Under those circumstances is it better to go with a strategy like limping with a playable but not great hand like Ax - suited ace and raise with a premium starting hand like AA23 ds? What strategy do ye go with, particularly in micro games?

Appreciate any feedback!

Old
Tue May 01, 2012, 11:36 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Hi rafasrevenge!

When I play O8, I want to have a hand where I can make multiple nut hands preflop before I raise. Preferrably two highs or one high and one low. Wiithout multiple chances, there are too many hands out there since the players get 4 cards, that will make me flat or muck preflop.

Hope this helps and good luck at the tables.

John (JWK24)

Super-Moderator

6 Time Bracelet Winner

Old
Wed May 02, 2012, 03:02 AM
(#3)
Since: Jun 2010
Micro games you have to raise strong hands preflop. The fact that you will get a few very poor calls with garbage hands just adds to the importance of doing so. Quite often they will be playing hands that will get them in a world of hurt and increased Freeroll opportunies for you.