Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Software & Videos & Literature /

Good Books on Poker

Old
Good Books on Poker - Mon Jul 23, 2012, 12:05 PM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2012
Hello Everyone,

I'm looking for some good books on poker, both on the theory behind it and maybe 1 or 2 on the probabilities. I just picked up "The Theory of Poker" by David Sklansky. I'm looking for a couple (or much more) positions to read.

Might I add that I am a complete beginner and this is my first forum post

Thank you,
Julius "Jayce333"

Old
Mon Jul 23, 2012, 12:45 PM
(#2)
Since: Feb 2010
I only have 2 poker books so far - I would recommend both, not highly, but they are both fine and will not lead you astray so long as you know your level.

The first one I ever bought (from a charity shop for 2 quid) was

'Winning at Poker - essential hints and tips by Dave Scharf 2003

It is targeted at Low Limit Hold Em - but as a starting point I found it very useful for hand strengths, odds & outs etc. It is fairly simplistic and easy to read - I found it a good starting point but as I rarely play limit hold em I don't go back to it often.

More recently I got Doyle Brunsons Super System 2 - which has contributions from many good players and covers more poker formats with a lot on NLHE - however the NLHE stuff is advanced and more applicable to higher stakes than I play. The Mike Caro stuff is particularly good, perhaps because it has simple rules that are understandable, memorable and seem to work in practice.

Basically I would get hold of any books you can and then glean whatever you can from them, but also remember there is a massive library of poker training here at PSO, and Live Training and the Education Forums are great places to learn.

Good luck

Ed from Edinburgh - EdinFreeMan

Old
Welcome - Mon Jul 23, 2012, 12:53 PM
(#3)
Since: Jun 2010