Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

In big blind, button open shoves.

Old
In big blind, button open shoves. - Tue Sep 04, 2012, 01:46 PM
(#1)
Since: Aug 2011
What do you do if your in the bb and 1 player before you open shoves and everyone folds. If you holding AKo, I've seen a lot of regular players been happy going with this hand preflop. I just encountered this situation in zoom and I elected to fold and immediately sat out and went to poker stove.

I would range someone at AA, KK, QQ with possibly AKo and AKs.

Now against this range AKo has 39% equity, so I'm happy with my fold.

I also tried out a few other hands that people would go with preflop:

AKo 39%
AKs 42%
JJ 36%
QQ 40%
KK 57%
AA 84%

So it seems like AA and KK are the only 2 hands that it would be profitable to call this shove with. I started playing multi-table SNG's and recently moved over to trying out some cash games, so this seems totally wrong to my standard thinking. But I did lay it down and after the calculations I'd be happy folding anything but AA and KK.

Question is, would other people be calling here with worse hands? And have they, because I'm sure I've made a few of these calls myself and it seems a definite -ev spot.

Its different if its a 3 or 4bet and then a shove though, so I'm not saying i wouldn't go with worse hands preflop, if you 4bet AKo and someone shoves, then to call you have less than 39% of the pots chips to put in I'm guessing and it would be a +ev play then.

Just thought it would be interesting to share my thoughts on this.

Old
all in - Tue Sep 04, 2012, 02:59 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
In freerolls microstakes and rebuys the all in range are much wider than that. I have seen 72o all in first hand of a tournament. So it really depends on what type of tournament and what buyin it is. Of course this is just a generality and is not without exceptions, you can find nits at any level that may have a very tight range.

Good luck
Doug