Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

5/2c NL TH Jd9d, betting

Old
5/2c NL TH Jd9d, betting - Wed Sep 26, 2012, 08:49 AM
(#1)
Since: Mar 2012
Villian unknown

Did I bet OK in this? I am a novice and thus trying to play tight and aggressive, however I am worried that I still need to be more conservative when reading good draws. I play about 20% of hands, so when I play I tend to make large bets and raises, I then fee it difficult of pulling out of a pot as I have invested a fair bit on each betting round. Can you offer me any advice specifically relating to this hand?

Many thanks,

Matthew

Old
Wed Sep 26, 2012, 09:56 AM
(#2)
Since: Nov 2007
Hi Matthew,

It has been a while since I posted anything meaningful but having seen this thread with someone obviously looking to learn I have decided to give you some advice.

Firstly, a question, is this Zoom or normal speed 5NL? I will assume normal speed.

To the hand itself: J9 of diamonds is a speculative hand and from early to mid position is an instant fold

At least you opened for a raise and did not limp, but a min raise looks very fishy to any regulars playing. Also the fact you are short stacked immediately labels you a "fish" to regular players.

The villain puts in a small 3bet pre flop and calling basically tells him your hand is not super strong.

You flop the flush and the villain leads into for about a third of the pot, on such a coordinated board that usually means he has a part of it. Your reraise is too small and gives him the odds to call. You probably are worried about a higher flush or flush draw at this point but the bet has to be bigger. On this depth of money I am probably shoving here.