Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

Did I play this correctly?

Old
Did I play this correctly? - Wed Oct 17, 2012, 08:23 PM
(#1)
Since: Sep 2012
BronzeStar
Hi all,

So I'm still pretty new to this online poker thing but I had this one hand that really bothered me... I'm curious if I played this right or if I should have folded after the other guy went all in... Any advice would be much appreciated!

Old
Wed Oct 17, 2012, 08:31 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
**moved to more appropriate forum JWK24**

Super-Moderator

6 Time Bracelet Winner

Old
Wed Oct 17, 2012, 08:32 PM
(#3)
Since: Jun 2010
BronzeStar
My thought is that you made the mistake post flop. When the other player checked, you should have made a larger bet. The minimum bid you made encouraged him to remain. Though in your defense, if you shipped and he folded, you would not have made that much. So I'm going to ask how many hands did you play at this table. How did you read your opponent? If the guy was loose, or a calling station, I don't think any bet would have convinced him to fold his set.

I'll be curious to know if my read is correct.

Old
Wed Oct 17, 2012, 11:15 PM
(#4)
Since: Aug 2010
BronzeStar
Hi shaun.

When the money went in you were on the absolute nut hand.

At best an opp had about 35% equity versus you with a set. While this means you will lose a little over 1/3rd of the time to any opp's set, the 65%+ of the time you can expect to win will more than offset any losses over the long term. This is CERTAINLY a spot where you want to get all the chips in if you can!