Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Did I play this hand right?

Old
Did I play this hand right? - Thu Oct 25, 2012, 06:44 PM
(#1)
Since: Apr 2011

Old
Thu Oct 25, 2012, 06:55 PM
(#2)
Since: Oct 2012
You were very unlucky but I think you might have been a bit too aggressive - the hand was okay-ish but it would have been more playable if you were in a later position, if the double queen guy was before you he would've placed a big bet and you could've sussed he had a good hand then.

Double 9's is a big gamble to bet in a position that early. Although I'm a complete newbie, just my opinion!

Old
Fri Oct 26, 2012, 05:13 AM
(#3)
I did the re-raise only because he had done moves like that before earlier in the game but with less than marginal hands but I agree with you completely now I have slept on it lol.

I could have just laid down and don't think I should have gone all in and risk losing everything with a less than premium pair... lesson learned

Thanks

Old
Fri Oct 26, 2012, 06:10 AM
(#4)
Since: Dec 2011
Well...my un-expert comment is....

I think your 3x raise was good.....you have a choice of Fold, which you're not going to, Call/limp, but...I think the raise here was good, considering your Early Position, and the Blind levels.

But.........eeesh!!! after that bet pre-flop, I would be binning my nines........as quite likely he has overcards, so that is 10, J, Q, K, A.........hmmmmmm....you could have called...........but you are risking half your stack, if you fold you are still looking pretty......

Had the Blinds been , say 1200/600, I think I would have just gone All-In....

With a bit of luck one of the Hand Analysers will help......

GL, Weasel

Last edited by WeaselBasher; Fri Oct 26, 2012 at 06:31 AM..

Old
Fri Oct 26, 2012, 06:18 AM
(#5)
Since: May 2012